They say all good things in life come to an end. Today we announced that Kodak will retire KODACHROME Film, concluding its 74-year run.

It was a difficult decision, given its rich history. At the end of the day, photographers have told us and showed us they’ve moved on to newer other Kodak films and/or digital. KODACHROME Film currently represents a fraction of one percent of our film sales. We at Kodak want to celebrate with you the rich history of this storied film. Feel free to share with us your fondest memories of Kodachrome.

from the comments:

Posted By: Raphael Parejo-Coudert (6/24/2009)

Comment: Sadness and nostalgy, that’s what I’m feeling. An if I understand the economic reasons of the, I think it’s an error to discontinue Kodachrome. Something is going wrong. I’m a french ethnomusicologist, and I was taking picture since 1979 with Kodachrome, especially during my field works in Andean Regions of South America. I’m also working on ethnographic sound and pictures archives problems. I’ve obtained two times the french “Dotation Kodak Grand reportage” (Kodak France “allowance” of Kodachrome 35mm films) for my works in the Andes. Iwas one of the “beta tester” fo Kodachrome 200. And I’ve received some prizes for photographs take with Kodachrome 25 and 64. The quality of Kodachrome is not only on the aesthetic side: Kodachrome is the only film I’ve used which have resist to cold, heat, humity, and preserve images for the long term. There is no other serious alternative for archival quality film. Bad annouce for all the professional who where working with Kodachrome. No the ones who take pictures for people magazine, but the ones who, like me, need to travel far away and take pictures in bad conditions.

Posted By: robert s (6/23/2009)

Comment: This is one serious error Kodak needs to reverse. Many decisions are about profit and about style and fashion. But Kodachrome is an irreplaceable component of history. Not because of the pictures that have already been shot, though there are countless such images. It is because of the future history we are going to lose. There is no other alternative archival quality film that can substitute. There just are NO other options. It isn’t about some other film looking as good, or digital looking as good. I started shooting Kodachrome in the early 70’s, some 35+ years ago. All my original slides look like new today. There is nothing like Kodachrome in my Leicas. Has anyone tried to read and old floppy disk lately? An old computer tape? Now I am talking about 10 years old. Not 40 years old or more. I can still scan my 35 year old Kodachromes. (And nothing beats the image projected to the size of a whole wall on the Pradovit). The old Ektachromes have all turned to faded glue. Useless. No – this is a serious crisis, and this is about a serious responsibility to provide a rare, irreplaceable product that literally provides us the only opportunity to record and preserve images for the long term. We, the photographic community have a responsibility to rally behind the product, and Kodak has a responsibility to provide a means of supporting this as long as it is vaguely revenue neutral, for reasons that go far beyond fashion, style, and the quarterly report. We all need to have much more a long term perspective on everything we do. There are things in life that have more value than the next bonus and report.

Posted By: Mike (6/24/2009)

Comment: Some of you seem bitter about Kodak’s decision. You are obviously amateurs, which is fine, but professionals stopped using Kodachrome a long time ago, with the odd exception such as Alex Webb. I love Kodachrome too and some of my favourite photographs were made with the film, but I also love vinyl records and old American muscle cars. Nostalgia is a terrible reason to keep doing something. Especially with photography. Embrace change, and new techniques. Otherwise, we would all be using platinum prints and huge view cameras still. As well, films have come and gone for YEARS, it’s nothing new. I always laugh when the people who get most upset about change are the one’s who weren’t even there in it’s heyday or were not even doing photography at that time.

read all on the Kodak website

